Thinking About Machinima

• Hello folks,

I've been working on an animation project for quite a few years now. It is a motorsport-themed animation and I hope it will be around twenty minutes to half an hour in length.

I have a few of my characters done, as well as some of the cars and, most importantly of all, the venue is at around 80% complete.

The main features I'm going to need for this animation are:

Vehicle physics
    Particle physics (dust, smoke, water, mud and grass)
    Soft body physics for vehicles and barriers (think Beam NG, YouTube it)
    Character animation with facial expressions

Ideally, I would be able to render with things like lens flares, bloom and so on, as the event is a 24hr endurance race, with a large portion of it going on at night with headlights, floodlights etc.

If I get myself Game Dev, what would be a good workflow?
    What game engines are there which I could use for this?
    Can I mix engines together, say, using one for lighting, one for physics and so on?

Any other advice which would be helpful for a total novice at this would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Glen.

P.S. The characters are based on V4 and M4 and cover all ages. Getting clothing to fit can be problematic, so I wonder if exporting these awkward characters to an engine would be an issue.

• Both 3D world and 3D Artist magazines have covered this subject recently. If you don't get any joy here, I can go check my back issues and give you some issue numbers to look up.

• Thanks. Yes, that doesn't surprise me; as game engines get more and more comprehensive, the interest in machinima grows.