Using DAZ Iray scenes in Poser

• I am new to Poser. I notice that a lot of the scenes in DAZ's shop are "optimized for Iray". They include texture maps and a "DSON Core Installer". How difficult is it to load such scenes into Poser and have the textures display correctly in the preview (for toon or sketch)? What would be the next step if I wanted a superfly render?

Thank you,
    D. Vyd

• Poser Ambassadors

@d.vyd said in Using DAZ Iray scenes in Poser:

I am new to Poser. I notice that a lot of the scenes in DAZ's shop are "optimized for Iray". They include texture maps and a "DSON Core Installer". How difficult is it to load such scenes into Poser and have the textures display correctly in the preview (for toon or sketch)? What would be the next step if I wanted a superfly render?

Thank you,
    D. Vyd

Get the DSON Importer from DAZ (free), then get the DSON loader from Dimension3d (free as well) here: http://out.easycounter.com/external/d3d.sesseler.de

Install the DSON importer. If the DS products came with a Poser Companion file, you can use those to load the product.. If not, install the DSON loader and import the DUF files which came with that product.

Not all textures will be mapped, so you have to do that manually.
    Best appreach is to create a PhysicalSurface Root node for each material, then apply the textures to the input nodes. THe PhysicalSurface is similar to Iray, so most of the time this will work.
    I have not seen a script yet which can convert Iray nodes directly to the poser PhysicalSurface root node yet. That would be a great help.

• @wimvdb, thank you.

• @wimvdb theoretically yes, but PhysicalSurface Root (in SR6 at least) works correctly only in BPT mode.

• Poser Ambassadors

@phdubrov - I have content I have built that uses PhysicalSurface (metal/rough) for Superfly & doesn't appear to render differently in 11.0.6.33735 with BPT on or off (CPU rendering); what is the issue? I may be missing something.