Saving your Brushes/Subtools?

• Recently, I updated and I found that some of my subtools and brushes were not saved. I was not too bothered. But I am wondering is subtools and brushes save automatically or if you have to manually save these settings. (I can't find where if this is the case).
    Thanks!

Additional note: I am fairly new to this software.

• They save automatically when you close/quit the program..... if you do not do this properly ( you switch off your computer or it crashes ) then that save on close does not happen and you will lose any changes or additions to tools that you made in that session. .... When upgrading I have never lost any brushes or tools.

As my PC occasionally crashes then if I have made a particularly good brush or Auto Action I close the program to make it save it so there is no chance of losing it. I do wish there was a way to manually force a save of all settings without closing the program.

• Of course you can back them up as .sut files by using the "Export sub-tool" option under the Sub-Tool palette fly-out menu (or the right+click context menu on a selected tool).

But you can also back up your brushes by dragging them from the Sub-Tool palette to the Material palette (or use "Register sub-tool as material" from the Sub-Tool palette fly-out menu or context menu of a selected tool).