Poser SkyTexture node

• At Caisson's request I'll open this thread on using the SkyTexture node in Poser. Please note I am not an expert on this, but I'll share what little I know.

First, the node only seems to work connected to the background root node.

Secondly, there is no way to control brightness. In Blender the skytexture node connects to a specific background node which does have a brightness slider. The easiest way (for me) to get around that is to run the node through an HSV node and control brightness using values input.

Third, it won't add light to the scene unless the Cast_Light check box is ticked on the background node.

0_1501891017480_background 4.JPG

Once it's set up, the only parameters worth looking at are Turbidity, Ground Albedo and Sun direction.
    Turbidity control scatter (Mie scatter mainly by the looks). Default of 2.2 is a really clear sky. 8 is smog. or fog. Under 1 is approaching open space (ie, NO atmosphere... it's black).
    Ground Albedo is the light bouncing back into the sky and adding light from below. 0.3 is average, 0.6 or 0.7 is for snowfields.
    Sun direction is pretty obvious, and is the 'pig' I was mentioning. It uses XYZ coordinates (sun position uses 2 coordinates in the real world, azimuth and elevation. When using an infinite as a sun I use 2 coordinates, -x for elevation and y for azimuth. Z is always 0).

With sun direction the elevation is controlled by the middle number (Y being up). It runs from 0 to 1 (so first problem is calculating a percentage to match degrees rotation on the -x for the infinite light). This bit is actually not that hard, just clunkier than needed. It's the azimuth calcs that are painful.