Poser Features as Add-ons?

• Hi guys. This is just a post to try and feel out your position on this topic. I notice that Poser when Poser adds a new feature, like Bullet physics, a lot of times it doesn't get used. (I've never used it. Not to say it isn't useful, but for me personally, meh.) So I'm wondering if it might be more advantageous for SM and us as customers, if Poser were to add new features to Poser via addon packs? If you don't need it, you don't have to buy it, and it might even keep the cost of the core program down. Or you could always buy the regular Poser program, and as you get more experienced you could buy the addon packs separately, learn to use them and eventually upgrade to the pro version. What do you think?

• Poser Ambassadors

As a developer I can tell you that this will

• raise the core cost, not lower it
    • increase the number of bugs in the system by a factor of 2
    • make it more difficult to diagnose problems because with all the combinations of add-ons there will be 32 or 64 versions of the running program instead of 2 (Pro or basic)
    • slow down releases as the QA team will have to test every possible combination of add-ons present or not present against every single feature
      or
    • make the quality far worse than it is because QA will simply test two combinations and skip the actual 64 or whatever

The latter problem often leads to the last problem (well known in other programs)

• The developers just abandon a particular add-on or a particular new feature because they can't make it work with the add-on. The result is reduced functionality vs. the fully-integrated non-modular product.

• @bagginsbill said in Poser Features as Add-ons?:

As a developer I can tell you that this will

• raise the core cost, not lower it
    • increase the number of bugs in the system by a factor of 2