New to Poser

• Hello, as the topic title says I am brand new to poser. Poser 11 is the first poser program I have ever used. I did purchase the video tutorials and I have looked at the reference manual but I am still having a hard time applying color in the material room to hair made in the hair room.

I make sure that the hair is selected and play around with the colors. While in the preview areas it shows the color that I want it doesn't appear on the hair. Is there a step I am missing or something I possibly overlooked?

• Poser Ambassadors

@tsanders The hair might have multiple material zones, meaning different parts of the hair model have their own material. Perhaps you have the "preview" material selected?

Here is the advanced material room, showing all of the nodes expanded (the eye-shaped icon boxed in yellow-green opens the window).
    0_1506971354516_mat zone drop-down menu.png

In the advanced material room, you can select the eyedropper tool and point the mouse at the hair and click; that should select the hair material.
    0_1506971469423_editing tools - material eyedropper selected.PNG

Another possibility is that the material doesn't preview the same way it renders; the preview renderer is simple and it doesn't comprehend some of the new Cycles nodes. So, you may find that the hair renders well.

• Poser Ambassadors

Hello tsanders;, welcome to this forum.

In preview : You only see the infinite thin edges and vertex where the hair is build with.

The volume of the hair (or hair thickness as you like, that can be set in the hair room with Root and Tip with) , only shows its hair volume and colors at render time.

The preview only shows the infinite thin geometry edges and vertices.

• Dynamic hair is different from transmapped hair for the shader. Depending on which render engine you're using, will determine how to set up the shader.

For firefly, here is a simple shader that works.

0_1506981208463_hair 1.JPG

And here is one for superfly