Creating conforming clothes from an OBJ file

• Hello,

I'm a 3D illustrator using C4D.
    I order to create historical characters, I'm supposed to create also historical clothes (conforming).
    I can create clothes in C4D based on a Poser pro figure (Ryan for example) and export them in OBJ files. No problem with that (except that I loose all the materials and polygon selection)
    Then I import the OBJ file, make it fit again on Ryan, and then it becomes really difficult.
    The user manual tells you something about dynamic clothing, but almost nothing about creating a conforming cloth.
    I suppose it has something to do with the set up room and rigging the items but again the manual tells me what I can do but no how to do it.
    I found some very bad tutorials on the net that didn't help at all.
    I would appreciate a step by step tuto for that.

Thank you

• Group the clothing according inside Poser: assign polygons using the Poser Grouping Tool, and label each group as well as assign material to that group. Go into Setup room. draw out the bones for the parts, starting with hip. You must keep the Poser convention names when assigning bones. Once you exit the Setup room, the rig will be bound to the polygons, after which you have to adjust the bending using joint parameters and weight map. Another way is to export from C4D as FBX and import into Poser, which solves all your trouble.

• Poser Ambassadors

What version of Poser are you using?

If you have Poser Pro 2014, Game Dev or Poser Pro 11 (most recent) then you should have the fitting room. You can use it to create conforming clothing from a clothing model that will fit to the figure you made the clothing for.

• I'm using Poser pro 11, i going to try that.
    Thank you

• I tried but it didn't work, pretty sure that I need to rig the cloth first anyway.
    Is there some kind of copy past from Ryan to Cloth solution in order to properly rig the shirt I made ?