I don't get it... why SM's Poser gallery highlights water/fire effects?

• @karina said in I don't get it... why SM's Poser gallery highlights water/fire effects?:

I call that a scam.

I've been using Poser for 22 years now. I was an "insider" for 8 of them. I did SOME work for the Poser 6 manual, but it wasn't until Poser 8 that I worked totally on the manuals. From Poser 1 to Poser 7 I was "just like you." LOL

I don't see it as a scam, to be honest. Going way back, I started just with Poser from version 1, but then I wanted to learn how to create things myself once Poser 4 started to flourish. It grew from there. I got a lot of inspiration from other Poser users, and sometimes, yes, they used other software to get the results they did. It's all part of creating art, IMO.

These images you are discussing are gallery images that were submitted by other users. I don't see it as any different than the galleries you see at Renderosity, or HiveWire, or DAZ. I don't see them as promos, but I can certainly understand how some people might think of them that way because they are on the SM site.

Just my personal opinion. Not meant to be one of an "insider." It's not my intention to start an argument. 8-(

• Poser Ambassadors

3D aritsts rarely ever use just one program. Even professional zbrush artists often use an external renderer like keyshot or arnold. Or they composite in photoshop and adjust layers and levels. Animated films also have a lot of postwork done to them. So how reasonable is it to expect a Poser render not to require any postwork at all? If you're making renders for promotional work to sell a model then I can understand not wanting to see postworked images, but when you're looking at a gallery of artwork demonstrating potential uses of the software I think that's a different set of criteria.

• @AmbientShade said in I don't get it... why SM's Poser gallery highlights water/fire effects?: