Understanding the Cycles shaders

• complete newbie here
    a couple of questions about the cycles shaders

1. these only works with the superfly renderer, correct?

2. I am trying to make a hard black&white version of Pauline using the BsdfToon Shader

I want to use displacement normal maps (the original ones)

but a) I dont get the UV mapping right with the ImageTexture Node
    and have to use the Image Map node for the maps to work - is that legal
    and what am I doing wrong?

0_1513103000210_Normal map problem.jpg
    b) the displacement strength doesn't match on the different body parts
    (see the hard transition line between torso and head in the image)
    and I have no clue why and what I am doing wrong.

• @starlingblue Create a diffuse node and plug that into the Cycles surface root node. Plug the image map into the Diffuse node. Normal maps and bump ,aps will be plugged into the Cycles surface Displacement plug in.

Ideally, in Cycles, the plugs are color coded. You plug like into like. In Poser, it's the same, but it is not color coded. Superfly will simply dim or gray out a plug that you should not plug a node into.

• 0_1513107583533_normal vs displace.jpg
    0_1513107595623_displacement.jpg

hm this doesn't work well for me either

1. the displacment seems soft and washy compared to using the normal input of the shader (right image normal input)
      (but maybe thats how its ment to be? but the stronger displacment looks much mior natural to me)
      maybe the input is just for greyscale bumpmaps?
      it's not documented in the manual

2. the problem persists, there ist still a pronounced border, and in the ToonBsdf also a different shading across the border

• @starlingblue That appears to be the seam between the head and neck.

• yes it is, of course (did you miss the last loine in my initial post)
    and it shouldn't be there, it's caused by the displacement map.