A Plea to Content Developers

• By way of introduction I want to state two things: 1) I'm new to Poser, and 2) I spent my career working in the San Francisco Bay Area and half of that career was coding.

Here's my plea...

1. Please zip the files, and don't use rar or tar as Poser's 'Install from Zip' doesn't support other compression methods.
    2. Watch your spelling and for typos. For example, if you mistyle "runtime", your content won't end up in the right place.
    3. Adhere to the Poser 11 directory structure for the library. And, if a previous version of Poser used a slightly different structure, create a new .zip file with the latest Poser directory/library structure.
    4. Delete any OS specific files (e.g. .DS_Store) before zipping your file
    5. When naming your readme files, add something that identifies your content. (e.g. readme-v4-dress-by-xyz.txt) This will keep your readme.txt file from being overwritten by someone else's.

Just a simple plea from a newbie to the world of 3D and Poser.

:)

Brent

• Poser Ambassadors

I don't know where you got your content from, but those are the normal requirements for contentmakers.

• @Biscuits said in A Plea to Content Developers:

I don't know where you got your content from, but those are the normal requirements for contentmakers.

True for brokered content makers, anyway. Freebie content makers are free to do as they please even if it frustrates new users like the OP. Sadly.

• I partially concur with you, dbwalton, after many years spent using Poser content, I can say and suggest to never open and move anything directly from a zip file to your runtime(s).
    In my experience, with both, purchased and free items, you may end as you experienced and with free ones, there may be even no folders at all.

But... given your experience with coding and I can assume with computers in general, why you install something and you don't look at what you're installing in the first place?