Utter newbie checking a few basics

• Hi All,
    Indeed I am so new that I am not even using Poser yet...
    I'd like to ask a few questions before I take the leap and purchase the software as I want to be sure that Poser is the tool I'm looking for.

Basically I want to pose figures to make fights and stories in wresting/boxing scenarios. I have no real previous experience with creating this kind kind of work although I can draw well and have a lot of experience with PC packages.
    As you might imagine, the genre I want to use will need to involve various own-designed costumes in varying degrees of complexity for male and female fighters and, as comes with the territory, I will need to include a reasonable amount of flesh, muscle-tone and even embellishments such as bruising and possibly even cuts etc.

Also, of course, I would want to render backgrounds such as boxing rings, crowds and/or gym interiors.

So, for starters, am I looking in the right direction with Poser 11? (I don't think I'll buy Pro as I'm just starting out).

note: I'm not looking to animate - I would only be creating still-shots.

Thank you for your support and advice!

Reg.

• Yeah, you're in the right ring there. Poser can do it for you.

You can create your ring sets (= background + props ) very easily in SketchUp free version, which will export in Collada file format which will not work well for Poser, but then use the free Autodesk FBX Converter to convert from Collada to FBX to OBJ file format, what works amazingly well with Poser. And it's all free.

The problem though is one making your own costumes and clothes. That's a significant effort, and different people do it in different ways. You may save yourself time and effort if you find ready clothes and costumes from one of the 3rd party vendors that will suit you.

Otherwise if you decide to build your own clothes there will be a bit of learning there. It can get pretty deep and technical and time-consuming.