Creating Animal Figures (mesh)

• I just got Poser Pro. I am a pen and ink artist and I see a great potential in this program. However, I am wondering if the Poser Pro program will allow me to create my own figures. I want to create scenes with mice in them. I see only one package available and that is for "Lab Mouse". Does Poser Pro allow you to create those meshes and therefore your own figures especially animals? If not what program gives you the ability to create them. Thanks forward for any comments.

Calvin De Beverly

• Poser Ambassadors

Poser is a "posing and rendering app". It can not build meshes from the ground up.

To "build meshes" you need a dedicated 3D app like Zbrush,(expensive) or Blender (as good and open source app) .

To build a moving or "posable figure you need 3 things:

The mesh, (wireframe build of vertex, edges and polygons. => External app.

The UV-Unwrap and the textures to "hang on the mesh". => External. app

The rigging to "move" the parts you want to move like the arms, legs and so on.
    This last part can be done inside Poser.

And then you can "pose" and "render" your figure in a scene inside Poser.

• Thank you so very much for the response vitters. I noted that Blender advertises this:

The software. Blender is the free and open source 3D creation suite. It supports the entirety of the 3D pipeline—modeling, rigging, animation, simulation, rendering, compositing and motion tracking, even video editing and game creation.

So I have to ask what do I need Poser Pro for?

Trying not to be cynical here. I really need to know if I mis-purchased.

Thank you.

Calvin De Beverly

• @calvindebeverly I think it depends on how you develop your workflow. I've been using Blender for many years, but I don't do animation, or movies/videos, and I'm certainly not into game development, so I basically use it only for modeling and UV mapping.