Question for the Poser Engineers and Geeks

• I'm not an engineer, but I think I recognize the reasoning behind the idea of cutting up an figure's geometry into the various groups/actors. It basically allowed each body part to move as needed like a joint. And at the time there were not other ways of accomplishing the same thing, I guess. So my question is, is it not possible to accomplish movement and joint flexibility today without the need to physically cut the figure up? Isn't weightmapping itself one of those ways? So, even allowing for backward compatibility issues, wouldn't it make more sense for Poser to phase out the mesh cutting for newer figures going forward?

• At the time there were other ways to go but Poser's methods were easier in a way - and some aspects of it still works better than you'd get in vanilla Maya. That said, however, with the inclusion of weight mapping in Poser it's now up to the creator to decide if they want to cut up their models or not. I wrote a brief tutorial about this very thing as well as created a video on how you can rig without the need to separate the model into groups within Poser. The video may not be around anymore but I believe the written explanation should be on the forum somewhere.

The Poser team could take out support for breaking up the models but that's going to also likely kill support for a lot of older content (which I've always been OK with - people need to let old toys stay buried). Since doing that will just cause people to complain and in turn, request support for the old content be reinstated, why not just suggest to new content creators that they stop doing things the old way? Then you get the best of both worlds. You can use the old content with it's weirdness and the new content with all its weirdness.

So I'd say put the question to the content creators.

• I would love to find that tutorial. One day I will look for it. This is something I'd like to try.