Details... details.

• I'm still learning to model, but I'm getting there. I have a question though. My main issue is to try and find a balance between making models with enough details and a decent but manageable polygon count for Poser or any other program. I don't know where that line is. I deal mainly with Poser, but as my profienciency increases, I hope to eventually model props for Poser, Studio and games. What's a "reasonable" size to detail ratio for models? Should I model in details or is using bump and normal maps more preferable?

• Poser Ambassadors

The question of questions that everybody fights sooner or later.

Most important is: Who is the client, and what are the possibilities of the app and render engine they use.

Simple example : FireFly and SuperFly. and there are many others…...

• FireFly and SuperFly use a different Normal map system; So where do you go with your details?

• FireFly can do Microdisplacement at pixel level, SuperFly can do Microdisplacement but only at vertex level. => So where do you go with your details?

• Both Firefly and SuperFly can do bump in the same way. So this is the way to go if you want to be able to use both render engines in the same way.

Next on the line is specular. (Tja whatever and however you model, it is texture we see, it is texture we render.)

• FireFly root node does specular, and does reflections.
    • PhysicalSurFace root node does reflection/roughness combination.
    • Cycles can do both, but again in a different way.

The obj file details.
    Basically? Look at my video 2 on YouTube. (Build FBM and enhance with a HD morph) => Then continue the extra fine details in bump/displacement/normal map depending on the render engine. (see above)

Extra line on clothing.
    Clothing likes to be build with the +/- same polygon sizes as the figure that is going to wear it. WHy? => Clothing has to be rigged and the rigging transfer works best on similar density meshes.