External Library in PP11

• Poser Ambassadors

I wrote the library that is gone. It uses "Flex" which runs in Flash or Air. Flash and Air, while capable of doing the same algorithms with the same data structures, are not the same. As a developer, I always used the Air version as it was easier to debug. SM never asked for the Air version, it fell out of how Flex works.

When the folks at SM got hold of the Air version, they liked it and exposed it as a Pro feature.

The Air (external) mode was always how I used it, even as a user, because of its natural ability to get out of the way.

SM did not have to pay for Air. That is not why it is gone. It's gone because of the users whining about maintaining Flash and Air.

• @bagginsbill

Thanks for reducing the mystery about this; I definitely respect your thoughtful process.

I always marvel at how people want things determined for them, rather than thinking about their alternatives, then exercising their choices. It's the Apple syndrome grown large, like a malformed tumor.

If the user declined to pick the external library and, if they still wanted a larger Library window, then all they had to do was the kludge workaround of un-docking and expanding it's floating size or just resizing it as a docked box (I'm not sure that can even be done).

So for those folks who bitched about occasionally updating AIR, which was a GOOD THING to my way of thinking (since updates sorta equal security), what were their alternatives?

The massive, interface-obscuring expanded-and-undocked Library window?

A docked, small Library box?

That large, undocked Library window, drawn within the main Poser interface, has to consume more Poser-managed memory. That cannot be a good idea, since Poser is already a memory-leaking resource hog.

It's simple: you don't like to update AIR to keep it secure? Don't use an external Library. Easy-peasy. I'll bet the same users turn the UAC off for the same reason; natural selection at work there.