CMYK colors look washed out in CSP vs Photoshop

• Hi! I have just started using CSP and I'm a former user of Illustrator /Photoshop. I'm really loving that this software has pretty much everything I was lacking in the others like good quality natural strokes. However, I'm having a VERY hard time with preparing my illustrations for print. I have learned that CSP works solely in RGB and so I have the Preview on CMYK, however, once I save the file as a PSD (client requests this type of file) in CMYK the colors look washed and the whites aren't clean, they become a very light grey. If I open the file in photoshop the colors become much more vibrant, even in CMYK. I'm really lost here, don't know what is the best way to prepare the illustration for printing ¿should I work in RGB and save in CMYK? In which case I have little control over the final colors ¿Is there a specific CMYK color profile preview a should be using for best results?

• I would suggest asking your printer if they can supply you with either the name of or the actual profile they use for their press. That would be the best way to know you're converting to the right color format.

• CMYK colors will always be duller than RGB. The CMYK color space is smaller than RGB and it's made with inks on paper instead of light and pixels. Even when using CMYK safe colors in Photoshop, the color is being displayed on the monitor in RGB; but it won't look like that when it's printed (it can't). It looks as though CSP, in its CMYK preview, tries to approximate how the colors will look on paper and in ink at the selected CMYK profile, but on a computer monitor (which isn't an easy thing). I think this is by design so that you can make color corrections with a preview that accurately displays your illustration as it would appear at the set profile on paper and in ink (or as close as it can get).