Say you're a Content Developer... what would be your strategy for the next 10 years?

• Say you would restart from the very beginning, with no ties, no dependencies, which platform would you develop content for?

Poser? DAZ? iClone? Maya? ZBrush? Something else?

Which platform you think would give the most $ for an independent content developer, if everything in the past was erased?

• Hm, i am not a content developer, but i would think, the best way to earn a reasonable profit would be to be present on the major plattforms and also create plugins for software like Zbrush and such.
    A single sided business model would crashing if the prefered plattform disapered.

• All of them and much more...
    as many different types of software as you can should always be the goal,
    There are too many variables to dedicate yourself to only one platform.
    Why limit yourself.

• This post is deleted!

• Okay, so, which platforms are the hot ones for the next 10 years? Can't develop for everything.

For example, I wouldn't develop for Houdini ($2,000) or Maya ($3,500/year) or Cinema4D ($1,200) or 3DS Max ($3,000/year) or Modo ($1,500), for the reason they are just too expensive to have a casual following, so the market seems to be very, very narrow (although it can probably be quite profitable if one can make inside).

Then Blender (free), DAZ (looks free but isn't), Poser ($200 or $600, take your pick), ZBrush ($800), Mod Tool (free), Clara (free), iClone ($650 for a decent package) seem to be the ones with chance of a larger market, perhaps some more?

From these, if one were to chose 2 or 3, what would be a nice set?

• @fbs7 Hard for me to answer. Twenty years ago, I was doing something completely different, but that drew me into Poser. Maya, Lightwave and 3DS Max were around but way too expensive. Still, If I had the same skillset that I do now. I'd go with Blender. I could still make stuff for DAZ or Poser, but most likely nothing figure specific.