Poser for oil painting?

• Hi,

I'm a painter, I paint in oil on canvas. You can find some of my works here: www.nomeansmore.com (please be advised that some of you may find my paintings disturbing).

I would like to try to incorporate into my workflow 3D characters using Poser, Daz3d (or maybe something different?). I would be grateful of any advices. Im usually preparing my painting in the Photoshop first and when I'm happy with the result I do it in oil in canvas. Im a bit familiar with 3D, but not much. I would like to simply set up the character pose, send it to photoshop, finalise on the backgrund, done.

What I'm looking for:

• Software which i can run on my macbook retina 2012, 16gb (a bit venerable for 3d) Poser? DaZ3d?

• Fast enough in the editor (Poser seems to be quite smooth, but Daz3D is very slow in the editor, BIG problem now, Im I doing something wrong?)

• I dont need really super realistic render (although would be nice to have that option, maybe via some render farm?)

• Im fine buying assets (I actually prefer that before free stuff which can be buggy)

• I can invest $200usd in the 3d software max (currently im running 30 days period for the Poser)

• I dont want to fiddle with details (thats not my core work), I want to download a character which i can fully customise, buy clothes, props, etc. Im a bit confused with Poser now, some characters can do facial morphs, some dont, etc. I would prefer to buy 2-3 really good (even expensive) characters with option of many addons (clothes, etc.)

So my questions:

• Poser or Daz3d? Or something else? Poser seems to be a bit dead compare to DAZ3d - Am I right?

• What characters would you recommend me whith the "full" feature set and I can buy many assets for? I'm also looking for kids models.

Thank you very much for help!

Karel

• @kpapik said in Poser for oil painting?:

Hi,