Importance of video card with firefly?

• I am a noob still trying to learn Poser 10. Believe it or not, I have done photo and video editing on my old homebuilt machine. It's only an AMD A10 5800k with onboard graphics. It does not do bad except for when I render glass and reflective objects in Poser. Then it brings my system to its knees. I will someday get the pro version of 11 but only after learning more and when I can afford a new system. For now, though I am on a budget.

I was thinking about getting a graphics card to max out my system hoping it would help until I can replace it. I Don't want to spend much, stay under $200. I don't plan on transferring any card I buy now into a new system later. So I was thinking about getting the biggest memory card for the money. So that would get me an RX 580 with 8gb of ram or a 1060 with 6gb. I know pro versions of Poser I should go with Nvidia. However, is there any reason I should pick one over the other for Poser 10 using firefly? Will adding a card help or is rendering done mostly with my CPU? I noticed as lame as my system is it is still way above the minimum specs for the current version I am running. Or perhaps I could try running Poser 11 pro on this system with a Cuda core card? What is everybody's experience on this?

• As you realise, video cards do not help in rendering at all with Firefly, the limiting factor is your cpu. Poser pro can only use the gpu for rendering with Superfly. Also it currently can't use turing cards (eg RTX 2000 series, and probably the GTX1660ti and other gtx 1600 cards that may be released,) or amd cards so unless the poser devs come up with something poser pro may lose its gpu rendering functionality with all new machines as the gtx10 series are phased out.