Mixing SSS with Glass--what am I doing wrong?

• I am trying to create a White Russian sort of drink where the creamy top layer is sort of slowly filtering down into the refractive bottom layer. I'm still learning the basics of putting Cycles nodes together and I cannot figure out where I am failing to put this one together correctly. Here is what I have so far, but it just either renders solid one shader or the other, or has a sharp, untextured transition with no gradient.
    0_1558591083182_mixed mat.png

• Additional notes:
    I decided to give up on blending the SSS and glass for now, and just concentrate on getting a gradient to work, so I spent time researching Cycles gradients and how to map them. A lot of trial and error later, I wound up with a gradient texture attached to a colorramp plugged into the diffuse color of the SSS material of my drink (I am using Vince Bagna's "Milk" shader for this). In the preview, it looks perfect! But it doesn't render that way at all...in the render, the colors are blended half and half up top, and then down at the very bottom is a sliver of the darker color. I wondered if it might be a faulty model, so I created a prop and went with an empty glass. That didn't work, so I exported the prop as an object, reimported it and deleted the original prop, and that didn't work either.

0_1558597607946_drink shader fail.png

Another note: I've noticed that I cannot get a vertical gradient by changing the rotation of my Y axis in the Mapping node, and had to use a variable node instead. Weird. Location mapping still works, at least in preview.

• Intresting Problem.
    I have to admitt, i have no clue how to deal with it.
    Maybe there is a differend aproach to this.
    I will search for some reference picture on the white russian subject and try to build something.
    ...and in the end, BB comes up with a perfect solution and at least three differend ways to do it. 😊

• Poser Ambassadors