Inverse Kinematics Problem

• Hello,

I've got a bespoke character model in poser (pre-rigged) and when I turn on inverse kinematics on one of the legs and then grab the foot and move it on the Y axis the foot curls inward instead of staying straight. (Screenshot Supplied).
    alt text

I'm very new to Poser (4 months) so I don't have the knowledge to figure out why it would be doing this? We have another bespoke model that moves fine, but for this one the feet are not playing ball.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Kind Regards,

• At a guess, there's something wrong with the rigging of the right foot which causes it to do this. Have a look at the left foot in the joint editor, then compare against the same readings from the right foot. They should be the same, with the exception of x values being negative on the right and positive on the left.

If it were me, I'd probably start by comparing the endpoints and origins on each foot.

I have to ask though - isn't this an issue for the supplier of the figure to fix?

• Hi Englishbob,

Thank you for your reply and suggestion, I've fixed it :) I basically copied all the x, y, z joint data from the model without the problem and added it to the model with the problem and it has fixed the rotation when I lift the foot. Very happy to finally have this fixed!

• Good to know - it does sound like it was a problem with the joint parameters. I forgot to mention that Poser's figure symmetry commands will allow you to copy joint parameters from one side of the body to the other, which should also have worked in this case. I'll mention it here on the off-chance that someone else comes looking for the answer to this.